Loading Events

December 7, 2017 @ 7:00 pm

Please join us to celebrate the launch of Jasper Johns with author Fiona Donovan from 7-8 pm.

In the late 1970s, after the artist’s explosive Pop Art beginnings and a period of abstraction, representational objects made their way back into Jasper Johns’ work. Supported by the artist’s words and previous scholarship, Jasper Johns is the first comprehensive study of his later paintings and works on paper.

Fiona Donovan helps contextualize images that have personal significance for Johns and explain a broader humanist discourse. Readers learn of his absorption with the appropriation and abstraction of images taken from Cézanne, Grünewald, Picasso, and others, and discover the inspiration Johns finds in his immediate surroundings. Progressing through several key phases and turning points in the artist’s career, Donovan brings to light not only this subtext of inspirations and influences but also Johns’ circle of contemporaries, collaborators, and personal perceptions and obsessions. Johns’ compelling and enduring curiosity is omnipresent and reflected in his stylistic changes, but the shifting themes, motifs, and moods of his work are all underpinned by his exceptional skill.

This publication offers a rare occasion to view and further understand a compellingly beautiful but elusive oeuvre.

Start: December 7, 2017 @ 7:00 pm
End: December 7, 2017 @ 8:00 pm

February 1 @ 6:00 pm

Please join us to celebrate the publication of BUB with Elizabeth Rose Stanton

A little monster, caught in the middle of a boisterous monster family, tries to find a way to be seen in this whimsically sweet and quirky picture book from the author of Henny and Peddles.

For Bub, it’s not easy being the middle child in his little monster family—especially such a noisy and busy one: Maw and Paw can be very loud, his big sister Bernice is good at everything, and everyone has to pay attention to The Baby. No one has time for Bub. But the day comes when Bub decides to take charge, and suddenly things change in a very magical little monster way! What happens next keeps his family guessing, until Bub sees that it might not be so bad being in the middle, after all.

Start: February 1 @ 6:00 pm
End: February 1 @ 7:30 pm

February 6 @ 6:00 pm

Please join us to celebrate the launch of How to Be Single and Happy with author Dr. Jennifer Taitz

Start: February 6 @ 6:00 pm
End: February 6 @ 7:30 pm

March 6 @ 6:00 pm

Please join us to celebrate the publication of Up in the Leaves with author Shira Boss

This charming picture book tells the true story of Bob Redman, a child growing up in New York City. Tired of the noise, the people, and all the rushing around, Bob took shelter in the natural beauty of Central Park—where he covertly built a series of amazing treehouses, starting with a simple platform and growing more and more elaborate over time. He played cat-and-mouse with the park workers, who kept tearing down his houses, until he was finally caught. But his story ends with a happy surprise.

Start: March 6 @ 6:00 pm
End: March 6 @ 7:30 pm

April 17 @ 6:00 pm

Please join us to celebrate the publication of Eating with Peter with author Susan Buckley and illustrator Dana Catharine

A life-changing journey intertwining humor, high romance, gastronomy, and an unsurpassable joie de vivre for readers of Julie and Julia and My Paris Kitchen.
Susan’s life would never be the same after she meets Peter. A man who was larger than life, Peter pulls Susan out of her comfort zone to taste the fine life, literally. Together they embark on a rollicking adventure through Michelin-starred restaurants in France to the souks in Morocco and the waters of the Red Sea to the Caribbean. They explore the world and along the way discover the most desired tables (sometimes in a tent), moving from Peter’s adventures with Hemingway to sampling delectable treasures in an Alpine meadow. When they return to New York, Peter—a writer and photographer as well as an inventive chef—and Susan incorporate their adventures into their daily American life. As they explore three-star restaurants, French farms, and Italian cheese makers, the reader meets and gets a taste of famous gastronomic chefs and their dishes, in addition to mouth-watering recipes, culinary moments around the Buckley’s kitchen and table with family and friends, and many of their New York food secrets. If much has been written about La Haute Cuisine in the past, nothing compares to the fresh, personal, and amusing tone Eating with Peter offers.

Start: April 17 @ 6:00 pm
End: April 17 @ 7:30 pm

May 18 @ 4:00 pm

Celebrate 40 years of The Corner Bookstore

Start: May 18 @ 4:00 pm
End: May 18 @ 7:00 pm

September 6 @ 5:30 pm

Please join us to celebrate the launch of Robin Newman’s new book No Peacocks!

Every day, Harry, Phil, and Jim are fed sunflower seeds by the staff who care for them at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine. But one day, they decide they’re sick of them. They make a break for the New York City streets in search of pizza or Chinese takeout.
But everywhere they go, they’re told “No peacocks!” by the restaurant owners.
So they try to get an ooey, gooey, delicious meal closer to home. But how are they going to sneak into the school cafeteria and get their wings on the school’s world-famous mac ‘n cheese? A little plotting, some stolen disguises, and a little help from some students, and the mission is a go! But will the peacocks get their mac ‘n cheese? Or will their cover be blown so they have to fly the coop? Based on the real-life beloved bird celebrities who live at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine (who are known to run off the grounds), and brought to the page in bold, bright style, No Peacocks! is a hilarious romp and a perfect read-aloud.

Start: September 6 @ 5:30 pm
End: September 6 @ 7:00 pm

October 10 @ 6:00 pm

Libby Babbott-Klein and illustrator Jessica Walker sign copies of Baby Feminists

An irresistible timely lift-the-flap board book featuring lush illustrations of your favorite feminist icons as adorable babies!

Before Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Mae Jemison, Frida Kahlo, and others were change-making feminists, they were . . . babies! In this board book that’s perfect for budding feminists, lift the flap to discover what these iconic figures might have looked like as adorable babies and toddlers. With its inspiring message that any baby can grow up to make the world a better place for all genders, this sturdy 7″ x 7″ board book makes the perfect baby gift for any family that wants to raise children who can recognize Gloria Steinem on sight.

Start: October 10 @ 6:00 pm
End: October 10 @ 7:00 pm

October 17 @ 5:30 pm

Raakhee Mirchandani launches her debut picture book Super Satya Saves the Day

 

 

 

Super Satya is ready to have a super day, including finally conquering the tallest slide in Hoboken. But her day takes a not so super turn when she realizes her superhero cape is stuck at the dry cleaner. Will she be able to face her fears, help her friends, and be the true hero everyone knows she is?

Start: October 17 @ 5:30 pm
End: October 17 @ 7:00 pm

December 6 @ 5:00 pm

Louise Penny will be here signing copies of her new book Kingdom of the Blind from 5-7pm.

When a peculiar letter arrives inviting Armand Gamache to an abandoned farmhouse, the former head of the Sûreté du Québec discovers that a complete stranger has named him one of the executors of her will. Still on suspension, and frankly curious, Gamache accepts and soon learns that the other two executors are Myrna Landers, the bookseller from Three Pines, and a young builder. None of them had ever met the elderly woman.The will is so odd and includes bequests that are so wildly unlikely that Gamache and the others suspect the woman must have been delusional. But what if, Gamache begins to ask himself, she was perfectly sane? When a body is found, the terms of the bizarre will suddenly seem less peculiar and far more menacing. But it isn’t the only menace Gamache is facing. The investigation into what happened six months ago—the events that led to his suspension—has dragged on, into the dead of winter. And while most of the opioids he allowed to slip through his hands, in order to bring down the cartels, have been retrieved, there is one devastating exception. Enough narcotic to kill thousands has disappeared into inner city Montreal. With the deadly drug about to hit the streets, Gamache races for answers. As he uses increasingly audacious, even desperate, measures to retrieve the drug, Armand Gamache begins to see his own blind spots. And the terrible things hiding there.

Please note that this will be a straight booksigning–no reading or presentation for this event. Kingdom of the Blind will be available for purchase the day of the event and attendees are encouraged to buy the book here. If you can’t make it between 5-7 pm, please call us and we will reserve you a signed copy.

Start: December 6 @ 5:00 pm
End: December 6 @ 7:00 pm
iCal Import