Loading Events

January 9 @ 6:00 pm

Paul Batista reads from his new book The Warriors

Legendary defense attorney Raquel Rematti represents a presidential candidate—and former First Lady of an ISIS-assassinated President—Senator Angelina Baldesteri in the most watched and explosive trial of the 21st Century. The Senator, a Democrat, sees it as a vendetta show trial orchestrated by the current Republican U.S. President, his Republican Attorney General, and an ambitious Republican United States Attorney in Manhattan. At the trial, a year before the election, the Senator faces charges of election fraud, tax evasion, and money laundering; each of which could deem her unfit for office and all but remove her from the Presidential race.

As the dramatic trial unfolds, Raquel steadily realizes that the Senator’s is hidden trail of lies which she has fought hard to keep from the light of day including a series of complicated and illicit connections. As Raquel’s complex, conflicted relationship with her client begins to gradually endanger herself, she must decide whether to face the recurrent dangers or allow her life and the lives of those she loves to be threatened.

Start: January 9 @ 6:00 pm
End: January 9 @ 7:30 pm

January 15 @ 6:00 pm

Dani Shapiro reads from her new book Inheritance

In the spring of 2016, through a genealogy website to which she had whimsically submitted her DNA for analysis, Dani Shapiro received the stunning news that her father was not her biological father. She woke up one morning and her entire history–the life she had lived–crumbled beneath her.

Inheritance is a book about secrets–secrets within families, kept out of shame or self-protectiveness; secrets we keep from one another in the name of love. It is the story of a woman’s urgent quest to unlock the story of her own identity, a story that has been scrupulously hidden from her for more than fifty years, years she had spent writing brilliantly, and compulsively, on themes of identity and family history. It is a book about the extraordinary moment we live in–a moment in which science and technology have outpaced not only medical ethics but also the capacities of the human heart to contend with the consequences of what we discover.

Start: January 15 @ 6:00 pm
End: January 15 @ 7:30 pm

January 29 @ 6:00 pm

A.F. Brady reads from her new book Once a Liar

Peter Caine, a cutthroat Manhattan defense attorney, worked ruthlessly to become the best at his job. On the surface, he is charming and handsome, but inside he is cold and heartless. He fights without remorse to acquit murderers, pedophiles and rapists.

When Charlie Doyle, the daughter of the Manhattan DA—and Peter’s former lover—is murdered, Peter’s world is quickly sent into a tailspin. He becomes the prime suspect as the DA, a professional enemy of Peter’s, embarks on a witch hunt to avenge his daughter’s death, stopping at nothing to ensure Peter is found guilty of the murder.

In the challenge of his career and his life, Peter races against the clock to prove his innocence. As the evidence mounts against him, he’s forced to begin unraveling his own dark web of lies and confront the sins of his past. But the truth of who killed Charlie Doyle is more twisted and sinister than anyone could have imagined…

Start: January 29 @ 6:00 pm
End: January 29 @ 7:30 pm

February 21 @ 6:00 pm

PLEASE NOTE: VENUE CHANGE Lindsay Stern reads from her debut novel

VENUE CHANGE

Due to size considerations this event will now be held at The Ukrainian Institute of America which is located at 2 East 79th Street

Start: February 21 @ 6:00 pm
End: February 21 @ 7:30 pm

March 4 @ 6:00 pm

Victoria Lee reads from her debut YA book The Fever King

In the former United States, sixteen-year-old Noam Álvaro wakes up in a hospital bed, the sole survivor of the viral magic that killed his family and made him a technopath. His ability to control technology attracts the attention of the minister of defense and thrusts him into the magical elite of the nation of Carolinia.

The son of undocumented immigrants, Noam has spent his life fighting for the rights of refugees fleeing magical outbreaks—refugees Carolinia routinely deports with vicious efficiency. Sensing a way to make change, Noam accepts the minister’s offer to teach him the science behind his magic, secretly planning to use it against the government. But then he meets the minister’s son—cruel, dangerous, and achingly beautiful—and the way forward becomes less clear.

Caught between his purpose and his heart, Noam must decide who he can trust and how far he’s willing to go in pursuit of the greater good

 

Start: March 4 @ 6:00 pm
End: March 4 @ 7:30 pm

March 12 @ 6:00 pm

Victoria Shorr reads from her new book Midnight

Exquisite and nuanced in its storytelling, Midnight crafts intimate, humanizing portraits of Jane Austen, Mary Shelley, and Joan of Arc that ask us to behold the women behind the icons.

Midnight is a study in the courage of three women—Jane Austen, Mary Shelley, and Joan of Arc. Jane Austen was poor in 1802, unmarried and homeless. She had outlines, ideas, and first drafts of her future novels but no place to sit and write them. It is at this bleak moment that she receives an offer of marriage from a rich man. Midnight takes us to the hour of her decision between financial security and her writing life.

When sixteen-year-old Mary Godwin elopes to France with the poet Percy Bysshe Shelley, she scoffs at the cost—life as an outcast. Together they travel through Europe, reading and writing, but Midnight finds her alone, eight years later, pacing a terrace overlooking the Italian shore, watching for Shelley to sail home over stormy seas in a shaky boat.

Joan of Arc, imprisoned in chains, kept her faith for a long year. Be brave, daughter of God, her saints had whispered, you will be saved—and she believes it, until she is taken to be burned at the stake. Midnight is the story of Joan’s final days, between her terrified recantation and her heroic return to the stake.

Start: March 12 @ 6:00 pm
End: March 12 @ 7:30 pm

March 13 @ 6:00 pm

Elinor Lipman reads from her new book Good Riddance

The delightful new romantic comedy from Elinor Lipman, in which one woman’s trash becomes another woman’s treasure, with deliriously entertaining results.  Daphne Maritch doesn’t quite know what to make of the heavily annotated high school yearbook she inherits from her mother, who held this relic dear. Too dear. The late June Winter Maritch was the teacher to whom the class of ’68 had dedicated its yearbook, and in turn she went on to attend every reunion, scribbling notes and observations after each one—not always charitably—and noting who overstepped boundaries of many kinds.

In a fit of decluttering (the yearbook did not, Daphne concluded, “spark joy”), she discards it when she moves to a small New York City apartment. But when it’s found in the recycling bin by a busybody neighbor/documentary filmmaker, the yearbook’s mysteries—not to mention her own family’s—take on a whole new urgency, and Daphne finds herself entangled in a series of events both poignant and absurd.

Start: March 13 @ 6:00 pm
End: March 13 @ 7:30 pm

March 26 @ 6:00 pm

Terese Svoboda reads from her new book of short stories Great American Desert

Great American Desert is a devious and extraordinary new collection of stories from one of our best writers, Terese Svoboda. A kaleidoscopic tour through the Plains that spans decades and beautifully fuses the tonal worlds of comedy, horror, history, and myth. Svoboda is sexy, funny, frighteningly intelligent, and sublimely attuned to the hum of ancient water running underneath our thirsty world.”                           —Karen Russell

“Terese Svoboda has brought a poet’s lyrical intensity and factual density to prose fiction and writes like no one else.”

—Tom McGuane

 

Terese Svoboda will be introduced by author Kurt Andersen.

Start: March 26 @ 6:00 pm
End: March 26 @ 7:30 pm

April 2 @ 6:00 pm

Mary Norris in conversation with Benjamin Dreyer about her new book Greek to Me

In her New York Times bestseller Between You & Me, Mary Norris delighted readers with her irreverent tales of pencils and punctuation in The New Yorker’s celebrated copy department. In Greek to Me, she delivers another wise and funny paean to the art of self-expression, this time filtered through her greatest passion: all things Greek.Greek to Me is a charming account of Norris’s lifelong love affair with words and her solo adventures in the land of olive trees and ouzo. Along the way, Norris explains how the alphabet originated in Greece, makes the case for Athena as a feminist icon, goes searching for the fabled Baths of Aphrodite, and reveals the surprising ways Greek helped form English. Filled with Norris’s memorable encounters with Greek words, Greek gods, Greek wine—and more than a few Greek men—Greek to Me is the Comma Queen’s fresh take on Greece and the exotic yet strangely familiar language that so deeply influences our own.

Benjamin Dreyer is the author of Dreyer’s English.

Start: April 2 @ 6:00 pm
End: April 2 @ 7:30 pm

April 17 @ 6:00 pm

Susannah Marren in conversation with Jamie Brenner about Susannah’s new book A Palm Beach Wife

For readers of Elin Hilderbrand, Susannah Marren’s A Palm Beach Wife is a delicious and irresistible novel set among the high society galas and gossip of Palm Beach.

Amid the glamour and galas and parties of Palm Beach, Faith knows that image often counts as much if not more than reality. She glides effortlessly among the highest of the high society so perfectly that you would never suspect she wasn’t born to this. But it wasn’t always so; though she hides it well, Faith has fought hard for the wonderful life she has, for her loving, successful husband, for her daughter’s future.

In this town of secrets and gossip and rumors, Faith has kept a desperate grip on everything she holds so dear, built from so little. And yet even she—the only one who knows just how far she has to fall—never suspects from which direction, or how many directions all at once, betrayal will come.

Start: April 17 @ 6:00 pm
End: April 17 @ 7:30 pm
iCal Import