Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Please join us to celebrate the publication of Eating with Peter with author Susan Buckley and illustrator Dana Catharine

April 17 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

A life-changing journey intertwining humor, high romance, gastronomy, and an unsurpassable joie de vivre for readers of Julie and Julia and My Paris Kitchen.
Susan’s life would never be the same after she meets Peter. A man who was larger than life, Peter pulls Susan out of her comfort zone to taste the fine life, literally. Together they embark on a rollicking adventure through Michelin-starred restaurants in France to the souks in Morocco and the waters of the Red Sea to the Caribbean. They explore the world and along the way discover the most desired tables (sometimes in a tent), moving from Peter’s adventures with Hemingway to sampling delectable treasures in an Alpine meadow. When they return to New York, Peter—a writer and photographer as well as an inventive chef—and Susan incorporate their adventures into their daily American life. As they explore three-star restaurants, French farms, and Italian cheese makers, the reader meets and gets a taste of famous gastronomic chefs and their dishes, in addition to mouth-watering recipes, culinary moments around the Buckley’s kitchen and table with family and friends, and many of their New York food secrets. If much has been written about La Haute Cuisine in the past, nothing compares to the fresh, personal, and amusing tone Eating with Peter offers.

Details

Date:
April 17
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Event Category: